Day 1 – Round 3 Kenda/Srt West Hare Scramble

D36 Dominates the Super Mini on D37’s turf!

Rnd 3 Kenda/Srt West Hare Scramble – March 14th 2015 – Rnd 2 of the Bonanza Plumbing D37 Youth Desert Series
Quail Canyon MX, Hungry Valley SVRA, Gorman, Ca – Hosted by Prospectors MC

Complete Results – powered by Moto-tally – Photos by Grumpy


Round 3 of the Kenda/SRT West Hare Scramble championship started off with a bang! 60+ Racers lined up for the Youth and ATV portion of the 2 day event and the competition was thick. In all 4 races of the day the final podium spots were battled out to the finish.

The day started with the Pee Wees and at 4-8 years old they took on the mix of hard pack, sand, hills and a little mx. MSR backed Andrew Schulz took the lead early and never looked back. Starting with a 20 second lead, he extended the gap by a solid 10 seconds every lap taking the win by over a minute and a half. The battle followed behind him as Caleb Mills, Tyler Kipp and Gregory Fenstermaker Jr. battled back and forth for the entire 30 minute race. Mills would come out on top placing second while Kipp followed just 6 seconds behind.

>DMC’s Andrew Schulz cinched another win for the season.


The second race lined up at an hour and a half with the Micro Mini 65’s and Girls. At the start, Morgan Thonesen took the hole shot on the 6 mile course followed by a slew of screaming 2 strokes. She would fall back in the field once they hit the jumps and she was admittedly intimidated by short motocross section.   After coming through the first lap 2 seconds behind Lane Forbes, who would drop to 3rd overall, Grant Pass Oregon’s Zeke Degyter aboard his KTM 65 made his way to the front where he seems most comfortable and completely pulled away from the field. He would pull a minute every single lap over second and would lap more then half the field. Forbes and FMF/Rekluse backed Seth Sedorra would battle back and forth the entire race coming into the finish as close as 1 second several times. Sedorra would break away and take 2nd overall.

>D36’s Ava Silvestri took the Girls overall and was the only Girl on the lead Lap

The Mini’s all took to the course next – Super Mini, Mini 85 and Junior Mini – and set a blistering pace for the next 90 minutes. The first corner and holeshot went to Nick Colangeli with Troy Lee Designs racer Hayden Hintz right in tow. Hintz would make his move quickly and be followed by D36’s John Modena. The 2 would stay very close for the entire lap then Modena would make his move just before the finish line taking the lead. He would have to push hard for the next lap as Hintz would hold on to him. After the third of nine laps Modena would start to pull away and take the win by just over a minute.

>John Modena Topped the All D36 Super Mini Podium at D37’s first home town round.

Hintz and another D36 racer, Robby Schott, would battle hard until lap 6 when Hayden would succumb to motion sickness and have to pull off the course for a minute to catch his bearings. Schott would go on to finish 2nd overall while fellow D36 racer Lochlan Campbell of Polka Dots MC would battle his way through the field, going back and forth on adjusted time with Mini 85cc racer Mason Matthies who has been getting faster and faster all season. Matthies would pull to within 22 seconds of 3rd but after running out of gas on his 9th lap, only ginving him 8 total laps on the day, he would drop  to 8th handing over the final spot on the podium to Campbell. D36’s Logan McChesney would take the Jr. Mini win after 3 Bros Husqvarna’s Eric Burdell had to take an extra pit with his over sized tank still on back order finishing over three and a half minutes ahead of Jacob LaCroix.

>T.O. Powersports Yamaha’s Mason Matthies takes his 3rd win in as many rounds.


The final race of the day set the fastest lap on the course and rightfully so with Pro ATV racer Beau Baron on his Maxxis/DWT Honda setting the pace. He came out to get some seat time and check out the new series for his class as this was the first year they could earn points in the Championship. He would lap the entire ATV field and collect the $150 Pro ATV payout for the weekend. The Chikato Bros. Kawasaki of Christopher Peatross would take 2nd overall and 1st ATV A followed by Blais Racing’s Patty Blais herself! She would help invite more then half the field to line up beside her and was able to take home a trophy while she was at it! Rovers MC’s Mark May, while having to push hard through the half way point, would soldier on to take the ATV B victory.

>Maxxis Backed Pro ATV Racer Beau Baron came out to do some work this weekend.

, , ,