KENDA/SRT West Hare Scramble Championship


2019 Tentative Schedule

Trystan Hart Wins 2018 Championship

Cody Webb Wins Donner Overall

October 22, 2018: The 2018 AMA KENDA SRT West Hare Scramble Championship presented by Mojo Motosport capped off the season at the beautiful Donner Ski Ranch in Northern California. The second annual U.S Army Donner Hare Scramble was nothing less than amazing.

The Pro Class was more than exciting with a wild championship ending. Brandon Magaan would get the holeshot but was quickly taken over by Factory KTM rider Cody Webb. Webb would not only take the overall Pro win, but did so nearly five minutes ahead of second place rider, Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Dalton Shirey. With Trystan Hart out with injury, it was highly anticipated that the championship would go to either Factory Beta’s Max Gerston, who sat second just 20 points down from Hart; or RPM Racing’s Dante Oliveira who was third, just four points behind Gerston going in to the final round. As the race would play out Oliveira would fight his way from fourth to second place behind Webb only to have bike problems, causing him to DNF the race on the last lap. This would then put Gerston in third place and in possible championship position but he also had mechanical troubles of his own, leaving the championship to Team SRT Husqvarna’s Trystan Hart. Shirey was able to reclaim second place and Jacob Argubright was able to capitalize and find himself on the third spot of the podium.

After a year of back-and-forth finishes for Seven Diaz, Anthony Ferrante and Zachary Kerling, Diaz is the 2018 Big Wheel champion. Diaz expressed on the podium just how tough the course was, “it was very, very, rough”. Going in to the finale, Diaz knew he had to finish no further back than third place to wrap up the championship but he was able to take another win. Anthony Ferrante would lead the first two laps of the five lap race, ultimately losing the lead to second place rider, Diaz, while taking a pit stop before lap three. Not giving up there, Ferrante was able to make a pass back on Diaz for a short time before Diaz would take the lead and maintain the first place position until the checkered flag flew. With his second place finish on the day, Ferrante was able to get third place overall in class for the season. After a fourth place start Zachary Kerling had his work cut out for him, stating that, “he rode the best he could the whole race”. Finishing third place on the day, he was able to claim second place overall for the year, only 20 points down from the champion, Diaz.

The Women’s class saw its fair share of excitement as they would race for the Polka Dot sponsored contingency prize winnings. It would be a battle right off the start for the holeshot between Bibi Carmouche, Cyd  Reinen, and Meg Argubright. Women’s A rider, McKenna Cheff quickly took over the lead and would win Women’s A class ahead of second place rider, Meg Argubright. Women’s B class rider Cyd Reinen would take first place ahead of Bibi Carmouche in second and Tosha Mcglothin in third place.The Women’s contingency prize winnings would go to the top three Women overall, Womens A rider, McKenna Cheff, Womens B rider, Cyd Reinen and Women’s C rider Jennifer Wolf